//
you're reading...
Motivational

Just Do It.

You know what the problem is? Sometimes you try so hard, too hard, to be perfect in all that you do, that you actually don’t get anything done. You’re so worried about taking the first step of a six-mile marathon. You forget that it’s one of many. You’re occupying yourself with thoughts that are quite unnecessary. Should I start with my right foot, or my left foot? Should I tie my laces in a bunny or a butterfly? What if I get tired half way? It looks like it’s going to rain. Should I bring an umbrella? Should I even run the marathon?—JUST START ALREADY. Stop worrying. Take the step. Take a leap of faith. Have trust in yourself…and go.

Lately, I’ve been putting off a lot of things. I’ve been so afraid of starting something and not being able to finish it. Or that it may not come out the way I want it to. So I kept postponing my “to do” list. Not my studies, because that stuff has a deadline. Keyword: DEADLINE. You see? The problem is setting deadlines for yourself, by yourself. We think we have a long time to do whatever we want. We literally think we have forever. We say “Oh, if not today, then tomorrow. If not tomorrow, then the day after…and so on.” And then all of a sudden, two months have passed and looking back, you’ve done nothing. Where did time go?

Those two hours you spent re-watching Titanic or The Proposal, you could’ve spent actually doing something. Not to say you shouldn’t have a break and watch a movie! By all means, go ahead. But the issue is, we’re now always on a break. If the day had 10 hours (aside from sleeping), we’d spend 8 hours on a break and 2 hours actually working. Our break has become our “normal”. We now normally watch two movies a day. We’ve become professional time wasters- unintentionally. We go on Facebook simply to check our notifications, and we somehow end up on our friend’s cousin’s fiancé’s aunt’s daughter’s birthday pictures when she was five. How did we get there?! Beats me.

Good news is, it’s never too late to get back on track :). Set a schedule for yourself. Make a calendar; it helps. Actually write down what you want to do. Whether it’s by hand, on your laptop or on your phone, it’ll keep you on track. Have long-term goals, but don’t let those stop you from achieving the short term ones. Don’t be afraid of something not being perfect. Having something done is better than not having anything at all. And remember, being too much of a perfectionist is an imperfection in itself. Yes, Allah loves those who perfect their actions, but keyword: ACTION. Actually do something so you can perfect it.

Stop worrying about the “what-ifs”, think about “what-now”, and just do it. (No NIKE plagiarism intended)

Discussion

8 thoughts on “Just Do It.

  1. haha, I love it! So light hearted and VERY true. Thank you so much for your wonderful reminders. May Allah bless you immensely!

    Posted by Taiba | November 10, 2012, 10:08 pm
  2. Well said Amal! The very problem faced by almost every do-nothing-revolutionaries like me ;)

    “A believer will have tomorrow’s work for tomorrow, not todays” -Umer bin Khattab (R.A)

    Posted by Nizar Ahmed | November 10, 2012, 10:18 pm
  3. Love it mashAllah! well said Amal!…no more buts or if’s ….just do it :) that’s definitely for me..

    Posted by Anonymous | November 10, 2012, 10:59 pm
  4. Loved it Amal. You made my day <3 mashaAllah

    Posted by urrothee | November 11, 2012, 12:01 am
  5. Hmm I like it Abdal Faruqui from Karachi pakistan

    Posted by Abdal | November 11, 2012, 9:56 am
  6. very good message Amal, and it’s just in time for me. But let me ask you: are watching “Titanic” and “The Proposal”?

    Posted by Magdy | November 11, 2012, 1:11 pm
  7. Such a great a message indeed. I find myself a little cornered when you said facebook, I’m guilty of that. I need to set aside time for many important things that should have been completed long ago.

    Posted by Stephene | November 24, 2012, 10:54 am
  8. Mashaa’Allah

    Posted by Anonymous | August 28, 2013, 6:07 am

Leave a Reply

